Members' Profiles
FASA Members' Area
Upcoming Activities
News Gallery
News Media Reports
Useful Links
Home Contact Us Sitemap  Sign In

The Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established on 8 August 1967. ASEAN was then consisted of five South East Asian countries of Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

The formation of an ASEAN shipping organisation was mooted by the ASEAN Permanent Committee on Shipping. In November 1975, 53 delegates from the five founder member countries of ASEAN gathered for its first meeting which was hosted by the Indonesian National Shipowners’ Association (INSA) in Jakarta.

The ASEAN shipowners who attended the meeting were strongly motivated by a common desire for closer co-operation in order to increase the role of ASEAN shipping in the carriage of the region’s cargoes as well as contribute to the development of intra-ASEAN trade. They saw the important need to adopt a common stand on regional and international shipping matters and the development of international trade. The shipowners also wanted to achieve an equitable, adequate, efficient and economic carriage of goods and passengers in ASEAN.

The Federation of ASEAN Shipowners’ Associations (FASA) was therefore conceived with these objectives in mind.

FASA was approved as an ASEAN Non-Governmental Organisation at the 5th Meeting of the 14th ASEAN Standing Committee that was held in Manila on 21 May 1981.

| Next Next |
Printable VersionPrintable Version  
Nofity A Friend Send